Destination: Virginia Museum of Fine Arts and the Black History Museum and Cultural Center of Virginia
Saturday, November 5, 2016
Sign up and travel fee due by Nov. 1
Please join the UMW Galleries for our annual bus trip! This year, we will be going to two important art and cultural institutions in Richmond, Virginia: The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts and the Black History Museum and Cultural Center of Virginia.
Please reserve your spot on the trip early as space is limited! Email email@example.com or call the UMW Galleries at 540.654.1013
Included in the price of the trip: transportation, breakfast, and admission fees. Become a member today!
The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Featured exhibit: Fabergé and Russian Decorative Arts Collection
After an international tour, VMFA’s renowned collection of Fabergé returns to the museum this fall. Five new galleries have been prepared to showcase 280 Fabergé objects and other Russian decorative arts. The galleries feature both innovative displays and a range of interactive components designed to inform, engage, and delight.
Since 1947, when Lillian Thomas Pratt donated a large selection of Fabergé objects to the museum, they have continued to enchant visitors. This spectacular Fabergé collection—the largest public collection outside of Russia—includes five of the 52 Russian imperial Easter eggs created by the St. Petersburg firm led by jeweler Karl Fabergé (1846–1920).
Black History Museum and Cultural Center of Virginia
The Black History Museum and Cultural Center of Virginia was founded in 1981 by Carroll Anderson, Sr. In 1991, the Museum was opened to the public at 00 Clay Street, in the historic Jackson Ward district of Richmond.
The house, built in 1832 by German descendant Adolph Dill, incorporates both the Federal and Greek Revival architectural styles. Under the leadership of Maggie L. Walker, the country’s first female and Black bank president, the Council of Colored Women purchased the house in 1922. In 1932, it became the Black branch of the Richmond Public Library and was named in honor of Rosa D. Bowser, the first Black female school teacher in Richmond.
In the spring of 2016, the Museum adopted a new location—the Leigh Street Armory. Prior to being the new home of the Museum, the Leigh Street Armory had endured a fire and decades of neglect and abandonment. In 1981, the city declared the armory as surplus property. As a result, the building remained padlocked until 2002. However, a grant from Save America’s Treasures, a national historical site preservation program, agreed to fund the armory’s rehabilitation. The structure had some of its exterior brickwork redone, new floors and a roof installed and was soon up-and-running once again.
The Museum seeks to become a permanent repository for visual, oral and written records and artifacts commemorating the lives and accomplishments of Blacks in Virginia. Our goal is to become a statewide resource on the many facets of Black history through exhibitions, discussions and celebrations.
The Museum collects documents, limited editions, prints, art and photographs for use in its Black History Archives program. This program will be of major significance because of the scarcity of written records on the Black experience.
Featured Exhibit: Romare Bearden: Vision and Activism
Recognized as one of the most creative and original visual artists of the twentieth century, Romare Bearden had a prolific and distinguished career. Your opportunity to view his incredible work is near.
Organized by The Romare Bearden Foundation, Romare Bearden: Vision and Activism, an exhibition featuring vibrant and thought-provoking collages, lithographs and more.